This account of the VCU Riot was submitted to the Wingnut Anarchist Collective by someone who saw our previous articles. We did not edit what they said except for to make them anonymous.  We don’t necessarily agree with all of their analysis but we value their account.

The contributor said they were cool with this being published because,  “Anything I can do to shed some truth on the incident from the point of view of students who were just trying to celebrate without violence, but got caught in the midst of unprofessionalism. ”

They also included some pictures of the spots where police shot them with mace pellets.

“PS the attached photos show several of the marks left by pepper rounds on my chest, shoulders, and back two days after I was hit.  Not pictured are the two marks on my neck/shoulder and the hit on the back of my head.”

“My name is ANONYMOUS  and I am a sophomore at VCU who stood as one of the many celebrators of Ram pride on Broad St. during the controversial events that escalated this past Saturday night.  I just wanted to write to you all with some of my experiences in the midst of the, in my opinion, fairly instigated ‘riot’.  I know this is all very personal opinion, but although there were certainly some out of hand participants, for the most part police seemed to have acted unprofessionally and severely increased the amount of perpetration that night.

Several moments of Saturday night stood out to me. I spent most of the night towards the front line of participants of the celebration just dancing and yelling in honor of the Rams’ success. The initial tear gas and pepper spray to the front line of students, of course without any warning or instruction on what we were supposed to do to cooperate, threw many students out of orientation.  I saw one of my friends, protecting and holding his girlfriend from the masses of rampaging students, pulled off of her, through the line of riot police, and struck multiple times before being arrested and detained.  I was then shot at least 10 times (five times in the front, and then multiple times in the back and once in the head after turning around) with mace ammunition at point blank range without ever having threatened or thrown anything at officers and without any verbal warning.

I still have the marks on myself to prove this and was far from the only student shot, yet police in the paper today denied any rounds were fired at students.  Also, among the many unnecessary tear gassing to ‘corral’ students without attempting verbal instruction, a group of five of my female friends, walking through the nearly deserted Monroe Park back to their dorm later in the night’s events, were hit almost directly with a tear gas canister while hearing what they thought to be chuckling from officers across the street.  I was also denied water to wash the pepper spray out of my eyes by several VCU staff members in the lobby of Brandt Hall while also being told by them quote, “we work for the police.”  These are just a few of the many offenses on myself and friends that night.  But as I see these actions, if police want us to respect them, they need to begin to act in a professional manner that merits such thought.  Until then, stereotypes will continue to be perpetuated and this type of action will continue to hurt and dismay those who do no deserve such treatment.

Welts from police shooting the crowd with Mace pellets from a paintball type gun

Comments are closed.